Formula 1 News

Ricciardo wins thrilling Hungarian Grand Prix

The Australian took his second win of the year from Alonso and Hamilton
Sunday, July 27, 2014

HUNGARORING, 27th July 2014 (F1Plus / Katie Grimmett) - In the wet conditions, it was Daniel Ricciardo who secured victory during a dramatic race at the Hungaroring - his second of the season. 

Although, the Australian qualified in fourth, he later dropped positions at the start. Throughout the race, the twenty-five-year-old staged an impressive comeback, capitalising on the two safety car periods to clinch Red Bull’s second win of the 2014. 


The Red Bull star passed Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso in the latter stages. 


Joining Ricciardo on the podium, the two time champion secured second - his best result of the season for the struggling Italian team.


The Spaniard took advantage of a long run on his tyres to prevent a fast-finishing Lewis Hamilton from passing on the final few laps. Alonso’s win also moves Ferrari above Williams in the constructors’ standings for third. 


Hamilton started the race from the pit lane after a fuel leak cost him the chance to qualify. However, the Mercedes mechanics successfully mended his W05 in time and the Briton charged to third.


A two stop strategy for Hamilton allowed him to react to those around him; he was the first to change tyres under the first car, propelling the four-time Hungary victor onto the podium. 


Throughout the seventy-lap race, Hamilton suffered with grip but stabilised as the track dried out. 


Pleas from race engineers to let his team mate Nico Rosberg pass were overruled by Hamilton thus leaving the championship leader in fourth after his second pit stop. Pole sitter Rosberg dominated the wetter stages of the race but was unable to maintain the momentum and dropped down the order. 


However, the German still leads the title standings by 11 points as the Formula One circus enters its summer break. 


Meanwhile Felipe Massa was unable to capitalise on his third row grid slot to finish fifth, not far behind the top three. The Brazilian lost out at the start costing him a fourth consecutive podium for Williams. 


Despite qualifying down in 16th, following an error by the Scuderia, Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen was sixth, still within one second of the leader.


Meanwhile, Sebastian Vettel qualified second but trailed the 2007 champion for seventh. 


Valtteri Bottas suffered from a poorly-timed pit stop under the safety car, forcing him to settle for eighth. The Finn was therefore unable to clinch a fourth consecutive podium for an ever-improving Williams.


Toro Rosso’s Jean-Eric Vergne was not far behind in ninth.


As the track dried, Jenson Button seemed to struggle, taking the final slot in the top ten for McLaren. The Briton’s overtake on Adrian Sutil on lap 36 also cost Sauber their first championship of the season. 


Kevin Magnussen started in the pits ahead of Hamilton after meeting the tyre wall during Q2. Both the Dane and Mercedes’ Hamilton were forced to change their gearboxes and make alterations to the chassis as a result.


McLaren’s young rookie finished in 12th and outside the points for the Wokingham outfit. 


Before the formation lap could get under way, Daniil Kvyat reported a loss of engine power and started from the pit lane.


The Russian was aided by several retirements and a long stint on his tyres to finish 14th. The F1 rookie was unable to capitalise on his 11th place grid slot to score points for Toro Rosso. 


As the rain fell on the Hungaroring, the drivers opted to start on intermediates, correctly predicting the end of the showers however two safety cars disrupted the session overall.


Marcus Ericsson’s early crash signalled the first safety car. Its return to the pits was further delayed by another incident involving Romain Grosjean and the tyre wall on lap 11.  


Nico Hulkenberg also retired from the race after a coming together with his team mate Sergio Perez cost the Force India driver yet another points finish. This weekend signals the German’s first retirement of the year.


Perez would later make it a double DNF for Force India after hitting the wall on the main straight. The Mexican’s crash was responsible for the second safety car on lap twenty-two. 


Esteban Gutierrez and Kamui Kobayashi also retired from the race continuing their run of poor form. 


  Driver Team Time / Retired
1 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing-Renault Winner
2 Fernando Alonso Ferrari +5.2s
3 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes +5.8s
4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes +6.3s
5 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes +29.8s
6 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari +31.4s
7 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault +40.9s
8 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes +41.3s
9 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Ferrari +58.5s
10 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes +67.2s
11 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari +68.1s
12 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes +78.4s
13 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault +84.0s
14 Daniil Kvyat STR-Ferrari +1 lap
15 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari +1 lap
16 Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari +1 lap
RET Esteban Gutierrez  Sauber-Ferrari MGU-K failure
RET Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault Technical issues
RET Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes Accident
RET Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes Accident
RET Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault Accident
RET Marcus Ericsson  Caterham-Renault Accident












Your Comments


Next F1 Race

Sep 6

Formula 1 News

Monday, May 18, 2015

F1 changes yet to clear hurdles


F1 Standings

1 Lewis Hamilton 126
2 Nico Rosberg 116
3 Sebastian Vettel 98
4 Kimi Räikkönen 60
5 Valtteri Bottas 42
6 Felipe Massa 39
1 Mercedes 242
2 Ferrari 158
3 Williams F1 81
4 Red Bull Racing 52
5 Sauber 21
6 Sahara Force India 17

View complete standings table »


Last F1 Race

Monaco Grand Prix
Monte Carlo, Circuit of Monaco
Nico Rosberg
Sebastian Vettel
Lewis Hamilton
Fastest Lap


Pole Position

Lewis Hamilton

View all »


Follow Us