Formula 1 News

Ricciardo capitalises on Mercedes clash to win Belgian Grand Prix.

Rosberg and Hamilton came together on lap two, giving Hamilton a puncture.
Sunday, August 24, 2014


SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS, 24th August, 2014 (F1Plus / Rosie Baillie) - Daniel Ricciardo was there to capitalise on Mercedes coming together on lap two to take the win at the Belgian Grand Prix from Nico Rosberg and Valtteri Bottas. 


An incident on lap two of the race between Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton resulted in a puncture for Hamilton and Ricciardo was there to capitalise and take a surprise win at a circuit which isn't best suited to Red Bull Racing due to the long straights. 


Ricciardo had great pace and once he got into the lead he was able to pull out a large gap. Rosberg began chasing him down towards the end of the race but wasn't fast enough to catch him. 


This is Ricciardo's third win of the year. He is the only non-Mercedes driver to win a race this year. 


Though Rosberg started from pole, it wasn't until his final stint that he seemed to have the pace to challenge for the win but there just wasn't enough laps left.  


Rosberg's second place and Lewis Hamilton's retirement means the German now leads the drivers' championship by 29 points. 


Bottas was competitive throughout the race and finished third to take his fourth podium finish of the year. 


His fellow countryman Kimi Raikkonen was also strong and finished fourth, his best finish of the season. 


Sebastian Vettel had a strong start and was up to second to challenge Hamilton but ran wide and dropped back behind Rosberg. 


Though he had a competitive start he wasn't able to challenge for the win and finished fifth. 


In the dying laps of the race a thrilling battle played out between Vettel, Kevin Magnussen, Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso, who finished in that order. 


Alonso lost out and dropped a couple of positions. The battle between Alonso and Magnussen saw Magnussen change direction repeatedly. The incident will be investigated post-race. 


In the early stage of the race Alonso was handed a five second-stop go penalty at the start of the race as his mechanics were still on the grid at the 15 second mark as his car was still up on its jacks. 


Sergio Perez had a decent race and finished ninth to pick up two points and Daniil Kvyat picked up the final point. 


For the second time this year Nico Hulkenberg finished outside the points. 


Jean-Eric Vergne had a quiet race and finished 12th ahead of Felipe Massa, Esteban Gutierrez and Adrian Sutil. 


The final runners were Marussia driver Max Chilton and Caterham's Marcus Ericsson. 


A couple of laps before the end of the 44 lap race, Jules Bianchi was forced to retire with a gearbox problem. 


Following an incident with Rosberg and a puncture, Hamilton spent the majority of the race running in 16th place. 


After repeated calls to the team to retire the car and save the engine, Mercedes chose to retire Hamilton's car on lap 40. 


Lotus suffered a double retirement with Pastor Maldonado retiring on lap three and Romain Grosjean on lap 35. 


Andre Lotterer's debut Formula One race wasn't meant to be and he retired on lap two after losing drive.


  Driver Team Points / reason for retirement
1 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing-Renault 25 points
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 18 points
3 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 15 points
4 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 12 points 
5 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault 10 points 
6 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 8 points
7 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 6 points
8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 4 points
9 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 2 points
10 Daniil Kvyat  STR-Renault 1 point
11 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes  
12 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Renault  
13 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes  
14 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari  
15 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari  
16 Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari  
17 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault  
DNF Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari Gearbox issue
DNF Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Unknown
DNF  Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault Unknown
DNF  Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault Unknown
DNF Andre Lotterer Caterham-Renault Loss of drive 



Your Comments


Formula 1 News

Monday, May 18, 2015

F1 changes yet to clear hurdles


F1 Standings

1 Lewis Hamilton 126
2 Nico Rosberg 116
3 Sebastian Vettel 98
4 Kimi Räikkönen 60
5 Valtteri Bottas 42
6 Felipe Massa 39
1 Mercedes 242
2 Ferrari 158
3 Williams F1 81
4 Red Bull Racing 52
5 Sauber 21
6 Sahara Force India 17

View complete standings table »


Last F1 Race

Monaco Grand Prix
Monte Carlo, Circuit of Monaco
Nico Rosberg
Sebastian Vettel
Lewis Hamilton
Fastest Lap


Pole Position

Lewis Hamilton

View all »


Follow Us