Noticias de Formula 1

As expected Vettel gets 'pole' in India

The defending champion earned another 'pole' in an uncontested fashion. Teammate Webber will start from second while Championship contender Alonso from fifth. | Updated |
Sábado, Octubre 27, 2012

NEW DELHI, Oct 27, 2012 (AFP) - Defending world champion Sebastian Vettel completed a third successive Red Bull front row lockout on Saturday when he took pole position for Sunday's Indian Grand Prix ahead of his team-mate Mark Webber.

The 25-year-old German, who is seeking to become the youngest triple champion in F1 history, made an error on his first flying lap in the top-ten shootout but responded with a second effort in one minute 25.283 seconds to grab pole.

It was his fifth pole of the season and the 35th of his remarkable career, but achieved without quite the luxurious advantage that he had appeared to enjoy through his domination of all three free practice sessions beforehand.

He said: "It was a tight session, especially having made a mistake on my first run on Turn Four. All in all it has been a great weekend so far. The boys have been pushing very hard.

"We have to keep pushing - there are a lot of races to go. The best chance to do well is to focus on every single step. We're look forward to the race.

I'm happy to be on pole but there's a hard race coming up tomorrow."His Australian partner Webber did his utmost to match him, but could only deliver 1:25.327 and took second as Red Bull proved they have the overall pace to start as clear favourites.

"It wasn't the smoothest (flying lap) for (Sebastian) and also for me," said Webber.

"On the last corner I got a little on the Astroturf on the exit and didn't have the cleanest run to line, but I'm driving the car.

"It was a pretty tight run thing between Seb and I. The McLarens were doing a very slow out-laps, and I had no grip in the first sector. I was surprised to end up in second."

He added: "So far so good, today it's job done and tomorrow we'll wake up and it'll be a new day."

Rivals McLaren did their best to break the Red Bull monopoly - Vettel has also won the last three races to move six points clear at the top of the drivers' title race - but they ended up third and fourth.

Briton Lewis Hamilton took third late in the session to jump ahead of his team-mate and compatriot Jenson Button on the grid with the two Ferraris of Spaniard Fernando Alonso and Brazilian Felipe Massa taking fifth and sixth places on the third row.

Hamilton said: "I'm happy with third. The team have done a great job this weekend, although we weren't quick enough to be ahead of these guys (Red Bull) today. But our race pace is just as quick as these guys."

Alonso, leader for a long period of the season, is now six points behind Vettel and with four races remaining needs to deliver a strong result in Sunday's race at the Buddh International Circuit, if not a victory, to stay in serious contention.

Kimi Raikkonen of Lotus qualified seventh ahead of Sergio Perez of Sauber, Pastor Maldonado of Williams and Nico Rosberg who was 10th for Mercedes.

On another near-perfect day at the Buddh International Circuit, where the air temperature hovered around 30 degrees Celsius, Q1 saw the usual suspects struggling at the back of the field.

The non-qualifiers were led by Jean-Eric Vergne of Toro Rosso who was 18th ahead of Vitaly Petrov and his Caterham team-mate Heikki Kovalainen, and Timo Glock of Marussia.

Behind them and also out were the two Hispania drivers Pedro de la Rosa and local hero Indian Narain Karthikeyan, whose great effort in front of his home crowd, could not produce any greater pace from his car.

Eliminated in Q2 were Romain Grosjean of Lotus, Nico Hulkenberg of Force, Bruno Senna of Williams, Michael Schumacher in the second Mercedes and Daniel Ricciardo of Toro Rosso, Paul Di Resta and Kamui Kobayashi in the second Sauber.

The times for the 2012 Indian GP Qualifying session: 

Pos Driver Team Q1 Q2 Q3 Laps
1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing 1:26.387  1:25.435  1:25.283 13
2 Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1:26.744  1:25.610  1:25.327 17
3 Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1:26.516  1:25.816  1:25.544 23
4 Jenson Button McLaren 1:26.564  1:25.467  1:25.659 21
5 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:26.829  1:25.834  1:25.773 21
6 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:26.939  1:26.111  1:25.857 18
7 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 1:26.740  1:26.101  1:26.236 25
8 Sergio Perez Sauber 1:27.179  1:26.076  1:26.360 23
9 Pastor Maldonado Williams 1:26.048  1:25.983  1:26.713 24
10 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:26.458  1:25.976  No time 23
11 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:26.897  1:26.136   16
12 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:27.185  1:26.241   20
13 Bruno Senna Williams 1:26.851  1:26.331   19
14 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1:27.482  1:26.574   19
15 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:27.006  1:26.777   19
16 Paul di Resta Force India 1:27.462  1:26.989   19
17 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 1:27.517  1:27.219   17
18 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:27.525     11
19 Vitaly Petrov Caterham 1:28.756     10
20 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham-Renault 1:29.500     10
21 Timo Glock Marussia 1:29.613     11
22 Pedro de la Rosa HRT 1:30.592     8
23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT 1:30.593     10
24 Charles Pic Marussia 1:30.662     11
    Q1 107% Time   1:32.071    

Tus Comentarios


Próxima Carrera

United Arab Emirates
Nov 29
United Arab Emirates

Tabla de Posiciones de F1

1 Lewis Hamilton 126
2 Nico Rosberg 116
3 Sebastian Vettel 98
4 Kimi Räikkönen 60
5 Valtteri Bottas 42
6 Felipe Massa 39
1 Mercedes 242
2 Ferrari 158
3 Williams F1 81
4 Red Bull Racing 52
5 Sauber 21
6 Sahara Force India 17

Ver tabla de posiciones completa »


Última Carrera de F1

Monaco Grand Prix
Monte Carlo, Circuit of Monaco
Nico Rosberg
Sebastian Vettel
Lewis Hamilton
Vuelta Más Rápida



Lewis Hamilton

Resultados »